AAU Glasgang Brücke West | Foto: aau/tinefoto.com

Students from over 80 countries & staff from over 40 countries worldwide lend our campus its distinctive, vibrant atmosphere.

Internationalisation & mobility

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt promotes a programme of internationalisation at all levels. This programme of internationalisation is demonstrated in particular by the exchange programmes offered to our students, lecturers and other university staff; funding for young scientists; our hiring policy; research publications, projects and partnerships; and joint programmes run with partner universities.

The university’s internationalisation and partnership strategy has the following aims: Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt wants to increase diversity in the province of Carinthia. Hosting students from over 80 countries and staff from over 40 countries, AAU is already an international campus for the region.

Internationalisation also makes staff and students more competitive. Internationalisation and partnerships are the traditional catalysts for good publications and third-party projects. The aim is also to increase the mobility of both incoming and outgoing students and staff at AAU.

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Cristina Beretta M.A.

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Cristina Beretta M.A.

Vice-rector Teaching and International

"Internationalisation has been an essential trait of universities since their very foundation. Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt’s geographic location means that internationalisation is of particular significance. Based in a city where three different cultures meet, the university is well-placed to deliver research and teaching informed by internationalisation."

Studying overseas

During the previous academic year, 213 students from Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt took advantage of Erasmus+, Joint-Study and general study abroad scholarships to learn new languages and to experience different cultures and life in another country.

International students at Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt

During the previous academic year, AAU hosted 266 exchange students. Approximately two thirds of students rate their study abroad at Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt as “Excellent”. In their study abroad feedback surveys, almost every incoming student said that they would recommend a semester abroad at AAU.


international students

31 %

increase in the number of incoming and outgoing students in the last academic year


partner universities

Selected partner universities

Old pier of Helsinki | Foto: Oleksiy Mark/Fotolia.com

University of Helsinki

(Erasmus+, Social Ecology)

Old town of Perugia, Umbria, Italy | Foto: pavel068/Fotolia.com

Università per stranieri di Perugia

(Erasmus+, Romance Studies)

Brisbane | Foto: maytheevoran/Fotolia.com

Griffith University

(Australia, Joint-Study)

At AAU the world is at your fingertips! AAU offers study and work abroad options to its staff and students via exchange programmes such as Erasmus+ and Joint-Study, work placements and summer schools.

Support & advice

The AAU International Office is available to answer any questions you might have about internationalisation & mobility. Staff are able to offer advice to incoming and outgoing students at AAU, regardless of whether they are part of a mobility programme or not.

The International Office also looks after all incoming and outgoing researchers and other university staff.


International Office

Location: Stiftungsgebäude building, 1st floor
E-mail: internationales [at] aau.at

Office hours:
Monday–Wednesday: 09:00–11:00
Friday: 09:00–11:00
and by appointment


Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt Menschen | Foto: aau/tinefoto.com

An internationally-recognised certificate is the best way of proving your language skills. AAU’s partnership with the British Council Austria means students can sit IELTS examinations at AAU for the first time. IELTS stands for International English Language Testing System. Register now!

Further information

Work & research overseas

Weltkarte | Foto: vege/Fotolia.com

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt has many options for researchers and other university staff who would like to work and conduct research overseas.

Interested in programmes and courses aimed at international students?

Alps-Adriatic Rectors’ Conference

The Alps-Adriatic Rectors’ Conference (AARC) is a union of 36 universities from the Alps/Adriatic area and has included the Western Balkans since 2011. Further information.

Carinthian International Club (CIC)

The CIC helps overseas staff and their families to find their feet while working in Carinthia. Information, support and advice are offered through regular events on a variety of different topics. Further information

• INTERNATIONAL

    AAU Glasgang Brücke West | Foto: aau/tinefoto.com

Studierende aus über 80 Ländern & MitarbeiterInnen aus über 40 Ländern dieser Welt beleben den internationalen Campus.

Internationalität & Mobilität

Die Alpen-Adria-Universität setzt sich Internationalität auf allen Ebenen zum Ziel. Insbesondere wird dies in den Austauschprogrammen für Studierende, Lehrende und allgemeines Universitätspersonal, in der Förderung des wissenschaflichen Nachwuchses, in der Berufungspolitik, in wissenschaftlichen Publikationen, Projekten und Kooperationen sowie in der Entwicklung von gemeinsamen Progammen mit Partneruniversitäten sichtbar.

Die Internationalisierungs- und Kooperationsstrategie dient dabei folgenden Zwecken: Die Alpen-Adria-Universität möchte die Diversität im Bundesland Kärnten erhöhen. Studierende aus über 80 und Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus über 40 Ländern zeugen bereits von einem internationalen Campus in der Region.

Daneben geht es um eine weitere Erhöhung der Konkurrenzfähigkeit. Internationalität und Kooperationen sind klassische Katalysatoren für gute Publikationen und Drittmittelprojekte. Erhöht werden sollte auch die Mobilität – sowohl incoming als auch outgoing von Studierenden und MitarbeiterInnen der AAU.

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Cristina Beretta M.A.

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Cristina Beretta M.A.

Vizerektorin für Lehre und Internationales

"Internationalität ist Wesensmerkmal der Universitäten seit ihrer Gründung. Für die Alpen-Adria-Universität ist sie aufgrund ihrer geographischen Position von besonderer Bedeutung. Die Lage im Schnittpunkt dreier Kulturen schafft gute Voraussetzungen für eine auf Internationalität ausgerichtete Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit."

International studieren im Ausland

213 Studierende der Alpen-Adria-Universität nutzten im vergangenen Studienjahr die Programme Erasmus+, Joint-Study oder allgemeine Stipendien im Ausland, um neue Sprachen, Kulturen und Länder kennenzulernen.

International studieren in Klagenfurt

266 Austauschstudierende waren im vergangenen Studienjahr an der AAU. Rund zwei Drittel bewerten in der Regel ihren Studienaufenthalt an der Alpen-Adria-Universität mit „exzellent“, beinahe alle Incoming-Studierenden geben bei Umfragen an, dass sie ein Auslandssemester an der AAU weiterempfehlen.

1.951

international Studierende

31 %

Steigerung der Incoming- und Outgoing-Studierenden im letzten Studienjahr

206

Partneruniversitäten

Ausgewählte Partneruniversitäten

Old pier of Helsinki | Foto: Oleksiy Mark/Fotolia.com

University of Helsinki

(Erasmus+, Soziale Ökologie)

Old town of Perugia, Umbria, Italy | Foto: pavel068/Fotolia.com

Università per stranieri di Perugia

(Erasmus+, Romanistik)

Brisbane | Foto: maytheevoran/Fotolia.com

Griffith University

(Australien, Joint-Study)

Mit der AAU steht Ihnen die Welt offen! Über Austauschprogramme wie Erasmus+, Joint-Study, Praktika oder Sommerschulen ermöglicht die AAU Auslandsaufenthalte für Studierende und MitarbeiterInnen.

Service & Beratung

Das International Office der AAU steht für alle Fragen rund um Internationalität & Mobilität zur Verfügung. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter beraten sowohl Incoming- als auch Outgoing-Studierende in den verschiedenen Mobilitätsprogrammen als auch solche, die außerhalb dieser Programme an die AAU kommen.

Darüber hinaus betreut das International Office alle Incoming- und Outgoing-WissenschaftlerInnen sowie allgemeinen Bediensteten.

Kontakt

International Office

Lage: Stiftungsgebäude, 1. Stock
E-Mail: internationales [at] aau.at

Öffnungszeiten:
Montag-Mittwoch: 09:00-11:00 Uhr
Freitag: 09:00-11:00 Uhr
und nach Vereinbarung

News

Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt Menschen | Foto: aau/tinefoto.com

Sprachkenntnisse weist man am besten durch ein international anerkanntes Zertifikat nach. In Kooperation mit dem British Council Austria können erstmals an der AAU IELTS-Prüfungen abgelegt werden. IELTS steht für International English Language Testing System. Jetzt anmelden!

Weitere Informationen

Arbeiten & Forschen im Ausland

Weltkarte | Foto: vege/Fotolia.com

Zahlreiche Angebote der Alpen-Adria-Universität richten sich an WissenschaftlerInnen und allgemeine Bedienstete, die im Ausland forschen und arbeiten möchten.

Alpen-Adria-Rektorenkonferenz

Die AARC ist ein Zusammenschluss von derzeit 36 Universitäten im Alpen-Adria-Raum und seit 2011 auch am Westbalkan. Weitere Infos.

Carinthian International Club (CIC)

Der CIC unterstützt internationale MitarbeiterInnen und deren Angehörige, die beruflich in Kärnten Fuß fassen. Durch Beratung und Information sowie wiederkehrende Veranstaltungen erhalten MitarbeiterInnen Unterstützung in verschiedensten Bereichen.  Weitere Infos.