

Organisational Plan of the University of Klagenfurt

A. University Management

The highest governing bodies of Alpen-Adria-Universität Klagenfurt (AAU) are the University Council, the Rectorate, the Rector, and the Senate (article 20 para. 1 of the Universities Act).

The Rectorate, in accordance with article 22 of the Universities Act, is comprised of the *Rector*, the *Vice-Rector for Research*, the *Vice-Rector for Human Resources and Facilities*, and the *Vice-Rector for Education*. The functioning and organisation of the Rectorate are regulated in its Rules of Procedure.

In compliance with article 19 para. 2 clause 2 of the Universities Act, the monocratic organ responsible for academic affairs in the first instance is the *Rector of Studies*, who is represented by the *Vice-Rector of Studies* (cf. Statute, Part B, article 2). The functioning and organisation of the Office of Academic Affairs are regulated in its Rules of Procedure.

The *Financial Director* is responsible for the central financial affairs of the university (in particular accounting, controlling including budgeting, risk management and treasury) and reports to the Rectorate. The Financial Director is responsible for the controlling, finance and procurement departments.

The following Executive Support Offices have been established to assist university management in decision-making processes and in the implementation of decisions:

- Office of the Rectorate
- Office of Academic Affairs
- Deans' Office / Continuing Education
- Health Management, Occupational Health and Safety & Accessibility
- Internal Audit Office
- Quality Management Office
- Legal Services Office

The Office of the University Council, the Office of the Senate, and the Office of the Equal Opportunities Working Group have been established to support the university's formal committees, namely the University Council (article 21 Universities Act), the Senate (article 25 Universities Act) and the Equal Opportunities Working Group (article 42 Universities Act).

B. Structure of the University (cf. Statute, Part A)

Alpen-Adria-Universität is organised into the following organisational units:

- Faculties
- Departments
- Faculty Centres
- University Centres
- Central Facilities

Faculties of AAU (see articles 2-4 of the Statute, Part A)

- Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Education
- Faculty of Management, Economics & Law
- Faculty of Social Sciences
- Faculty of Technical Sciences

The Faculties are headed by the *Deans*, whose duties are set out in article 3 of Part A of the Statute. Each Dean is supported and represented by up to two Vice Deans. The executive support office *Deans' Office / Continuing Education* listed under Section A is tasked with coordinating the agendas of the faculties.

Departments and Faculty Centres

(cf. Statute, Part A, articles 5 and 6)

• Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Education

- Department of Cultural Analysis
- Department of Educational Science
- Department of English
- Department of German Studies AECC
- Robert Musil Institute for Literary Research/Archives of Carinthian Literature
- Department of History
- o Department of Instructional and School Development AECC
- Department of Movement Sciences
- Department of Philosophy
- Department of Romance Studies
- Department of Slavic Studies
- Faculty Centre for Sign Language and Deaf Communication (ZGH)

• Faculty of Management, Economics & Law

- Department of Business Management
- Department of Economics
- Department of Financial Management
- o Department of Innovation Management and Entrepreneurship
- Department of Law
- Department of Organization, Human Resources, and Service Management
- Department of Operations, Energy and Environmental Management
- Department of Public, Nonprofit and Health Management

• Faculty of Social Sciences

- Department of Geography and Regional Studies
- Department of Media and Communications
- Department of Psychology
- Department of Society, Knowledge and Politics

• Faculty of Technical Sciences

- Department of Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity
- Department of Didactics of Mathematics AECC
- Department of Informatics Didactics
- Department of Informatics Systems
- Department of Information Technology
- Department of Mathematics
- Department of Networked and Embedded Systems
- Department of Smart Systems Technologies
- Department of Statistics

University Centres (cf. Statute, Part A, article 7)

- Digital Age Research Center (D^IARC)
- Karl Popper Kolleg (Centre for Research and Doctoral Studies)
- M/O/T School of Management, Organizational Development and Technology
- School of Education (SoE)
- The University Cultural Centre UNIKUM
- University Centre for Women's Studies and Gender Studies (cf. Statute, Part A, article 9)

Central Facilities (cf. Statute, Part A, article 8)

- Admissions and Examinations Office
- Facilities Management (Buildings & Technology)
- Central Computing Services (ZID)
- Cost Controlling
- Center for University Learning and Teaching (CULT)
- Family Services
- Finance Department
- International Office
- Human Resources Department
- Staff Development
- Procurement
- Public Relations and Communication (UNI Services)
- The Research Support Service
- The Writing Centre
- University Library (UB)
- University Sports Institute (USI)

On behalf of the Rectorate (resolution dated 14.11.2023): Rector Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Vitouch

Approval by the University Council on 15.12.2023